Pour une ame souveraine (For a sovereign soul), a Nina Simone covers album by Meshell Ndegeocello is due October 9, 2012. On the decision to release such an album, Meshell says,

“[She] was unusual, unruly, unparalleled. She has an unmistakable voice and an unavoidable spirit – she’s terse and angry and expressive of her despair and her joy and her sexuality. … She was a loud, proud Black, female voice during a time when Black female voices were not encouraged to make themselves heard.”

Pour une ame souveraine (For a sovereign soul) Tracklisting
A dedication to Nina Simone

1. Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
2. Suzanne
3. Real Real
4. House of the Rising Sun
5. Turn Me On
6. Feelin’ Good
7. Don’t Take All Night
8. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
9. Be My Husband
10. Black is the Color of My True Loves Hair
11. See Line Woman
12. Either Way I Lose
13. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
14. Four Women

Interested in more Nina Simone? Don’t miss Remixed & Reimagined.